Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

January 31, 2013

Brooks 2012 Volunteer Firefighter of the Year

Mineral Wells Index


Following a vote among its members, the Mineral Wells Volunteer Fire Department selected James Brooks as its Firefighter of the Year at this week's annual awards banquet.

Held at Southside Church of Christ, the event featured guest speaker Haltom City Fire Chief Steve Ross.

According to MWVFD Chief Joel Thompson, the agency also named its 2013 officers at the banquet.

Thompson continues as chief, and he said Lynn Reasoner and Robert Coker will retain their positions as first- and second-assistant chief, respectively.

Other appointments included Carla Hay-Perdue as secretary and Danny Earl as treasurer, Thompson said.

Additionally, the agency named three captains: Jerry Van Natta, K.J. Van Natta, and Monte Parker Sr.; and three lieutenants: Clark Gregg, James Brooks and William Eudy.

In addition to recognizing local businesses for their continued support of the department, Thompson said two crew members were recognized for their service.

"Clark Gregg received an award for 35 years of service and Jimmy Murray Sr. retired after 37 years," he said.