Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

May 21, 2013

Harvey to join MWHS Hall of Honor in Wednesday ceremony

Mineral Wells Index

— By David Naranjo | MWHS journalism student

With a 2002 Mineral Wells High School Sports Hall of Fame induction already under his belt, Coach Jackie Harvey will add to his accolades, on Wednesday, the 2013 Honorary Alumni inductee into the Ram Elite Society.

Harvey graduated from Refugio High School in 1967, where he was a celebrated, four-sport athlete. He earned an Associate’s degree from Bee County Junior College in 1969. Three years later, Harvey received his Bachelor’s Degree from Sul Ross State University. While there, Harvey was an outstanding sprinter, twice winning the Lone Star Conference 200-meter title.

Harvey has coached at Mineral Wells High School since 1972, and has had the honor of producing a Class 4A state runner-up team in 1994, after a smooth, third-place finish in 1993. The following teams and individuals that Harvey has coached are also MWHS Athletic Hall of Fame inductees: 1985 Rams Football Team, 1993 Boys Track Team, 1994 Boys Track Team, Henry Anders, Doug Brady, Adell Duckett, Sean Fisher, Alvin Garrett, LaTressia Holliman, Trey Hooper, Johnnie Jackson, Jesse Kimbrough, Regina Kimbrough, Leittia Knight, Shawn Nolen, Amber Norman, Melvin Ray, Richard Ritchie, Matt Russell, Gary Sherley, Casey Shultz and Johnnie Smith.

In addition to Harvey’s credits and dignities, the MWHS Jackie Harvey Track Complex is also named in his honor. Harvey’s acceptance into the Ram Elite Society will take place in the MWHS Auditorium at 10 a.m. Wednesday.