Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

May 24, 2013

Perrin Lady Pirates place six on All-District 8-A softball team

Mineral Wells Index


Six Perrin Lady Pirates earned first or second team honors on the All-District 8-A softball team in a recent vote of league coaches.

Perrin sophomore catcher Kelsie Anderson, senior shortstop Kelsey Hutton and senior left fielder Victoria Kuhn each were voted to the all-district first team.

Lady Pirates earning second-team honors include sophomore pitcher Haylee Fowler, senior first baseman Preslee Cox and sophomore center fielder Kali Parker.

Perrin also placed 11 players on the all-district, all-academic team including Joy Blackman, Katie Blakely, Makaila Brooks, Leslie Burwell, Ashlyn Cox, Preslee Cox, Fowler, Hutton, Kuhn, Parker, Maddison Richardson.

“I really have a lot of respect for the hard work, dedication and examples set by our senior class,” Lady Pirates head coach Ben Staggs said. “Even though the year didn’t end up like they wanted it to, the seniors have a lot to be proud of made the playoffs three of four years with a bi-district championship and two area championships.

“We also had a couple of injuries this year and most of the girls had to play out of position. But without complaint they worked hard turned the negatives around and had a shot at the playoffs at the end of the year.

“I am very proud of the entire team, and I am pleased that the other coaches in the district recognized the achievements of our players.”

Chosen as District 8-A’s Most Valuable Player was Olney senior catcher Laura Garcia.

The district’s Offensive Most Valuable Player was senior catcher Darby Anderle of Windthorst, with Archer City sophomore pitcher Ashtyn Wuthrich selected as 8-A’s Defensive Most Valuable Player.

Archer City freshman second baseman Madison Lucido was chosen as Newcomer of the Year, with Bryson junior pitcher Ashton Wiedebusch and Olney junior first baseman Hunter Riggins each selected with the district’s “Hustle Awards.”

Senior Taylor Humpert of Windthorst was voted Pitcher of the Year, while Archer City freshman Madison Howard was selected Catcher of the Year.

Lonnie Hise of District 8-A champion Windthorst was voted as Coach of the Year.