Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

December 30, 2012

Spoils of success

Seven state semifinalist Strawn Greyhounds earn six man Division II all-state honors

Mineral Wells Index


The Class six man, Division II state semifinalist Strawn Greyhounds have scooped up many all-district and all-region awards after their successful season, and now the ‘Hounds have added to the list of postseason awards by placing eight players on the all-state team – including two on the first team – in a vote of state coaches.

Strawn defensive lineman Bobby Wells, nose guard Cole Abbott and tight end Dub Little were first-team selections.

Wells, a senior, was also selected as the Division II, All-Region III Most Valuable Player on defense while garnering all-district, first-team honors on defense. Wells showed his versatility by also earning the District 10 Offensive Most Valuable Player at running back.

Little, also a senior, also earned all-region, first-team honors at tight end as well as being selected to the District 10 first team at that position.

Greyhounds earning all-state, second-team honors were sophomore quarterback Harrison Nowak and sophomore fullback Jacob Trujillo.

Abbott was chosen as District 10's Defensive MVP, and made the all-region team at linebacker.

Nowak swept the first-team board this season, also earning spots on the District 10 and all-region first teams.

Trujillo also earned first-team, all-region honors at fullback, and was a District 10 first-team selection at running back.

Strawn players earning all-state honorable mentions include sophomore cornerback Abram Jaramillo, sophomore defensive lineman Grayson Brandenburg and freshman safety Ross Alison.

Jaramillo earned first-team, all-region honors, and was a District 10 first-team choice. Brandenburg also earned first-team honors on the all-region and all-district teams, while Alison was voted District 10 and region III’s Newcomer of the Year.

The Six man Player of the Year was Chance Bush of Richland Springs, and the Division II state champion Richland Springs coaching staff was honored as Six Man Coaches of the year.

Richland Springs freshman Bryan Salinas was voted as the all-state Newcomer of the Year.