Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

March 20, 2013

MWHS honors basketball players at awards ceremony

Mineral Wells Index


Mineral Wells High School recognized its girls and boys basketball players on Monday at an awards ceremony at the MWHS cafeteria.

Awards were given for Most Valuable Player, Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and various other achievement awards for both the Lady Rams and Rams.

Lady Rams senior post Sydney Shelstead and Rams senior post Ricky Scott each earned MVP awards.

Other Lady Rams winning awards include senior wing Niya Benavides (Offensive Player of the Year), sophomore wing Kennedy Shelstead (Fighting Heart Award), freshman point guard Natalie Ragland (Newcomer of the Year), junior guard Bethany Allen (Defensive Player of the Year) and Pamela Hopkins (Most Improved).

Other Rams winning awards include Ty Ashley (Defensive Player of the Year), A.J. Williams (Hustle Award), DaShawn Hicks (Offensive Player of the year), Biren Clardy (Most Improved) and Kevin Gregory (Academic Award).

Both the Lady Rams and Rams qualified for the Class 3A playoffs in the 2012-13 season.