Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

February 22, 2013

Ladycats dominate 11-A hoops team

Van Remmen voted MVP, McKennon, Flanagan also earn top awards

Mineral Wells Index


Santo senior post Sarah Van Remmen was voted as Most Valuable Player of District 11-A, Division I in a vote of league coaches.

Van Remmen was one of three Ladycats earning top district honors and one of eight Santo ladies earning an all-district honor.

Also earning top district honors from Santo were senior Alyssa McKennon, selected as the Defensive Player of the Year, and junior Courtney Flanagan, voted the league’s Sixth Man Award.

Van Remmen averaged 15.2 points per game and 10.7 rebounds per contest while also averaging 2.1 steals and 1.8 assists per contest.

McKennon, known for her “shut down” defense, also scored 4.1 points per game and 1.1 steals per contest.

Flanagan averaged 6.1 points per game while also averaging 1.9 rebounds, 1.1 steals and 1.1 assists per contest.

Perrin had three Lady Pirates earn district honors, including all-district, first-team selections senior Kelsey Hutton and sophomore Scarlett Bowen. Perrin senior Kirsten Barbare earned second-team honors.

Earning all-district,first-team honors from Santo were junior guards Breeana Raffaele and Payton Billue.

Raffaele led Santo with 3.2 assists per game while also averaging 11.8 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.2 steals per contest.

Billue led the Ladycats with 2.9 steals per game while also averaging 8.2 points, 2.3 rebounds and 1.9 assists per contest.

Santo junior Taylor Nemeth was selected to the second team, while senior Kristy Trammell and sophomore Megan MacPherson earned honorable mentions.

In other top district awards, Heather Henson of Poolville, a senior, was selected the Offensive Player of the Year; and Poolville freshman Tracy Johnson was chosen as Newcomer of the Year.