Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

March 19, 2013

Controlling own destiny

Soccer Lady Rams need win or tie today against Brewer in finale to seal playoff spot

Mineral Wells Index


History, particularly in sports, enjoys repeating itself.

For the third year in a row the Mineral Wells Lady Rams soccer team needs to defeat Brewer in the District 12-4A finale to seal a playoff berth.

Kickoff is at 8 p.m. today at Ram Stadium. The Rams – who have already clinched third place in the district – and Brewer will play the first match of the twin bill at 6 p.m.

MWHS officials want to “pack the stadium” for the final matches of district play and are admitting everyone for free for today’s matches.

Unlike last year, the Lady Rams can also qualify for the playoffs with a tie.

The Lady Rams and Lady Bears have identical 6-5-2 records and are tied for fourth place (the final playoff spot), but the Lady Rams hold the tiebreaker on points differential by one goal.

Last year, when the Lady Rams needed to beat Brewer in the district finale, MWHS came away with an exciting 1-0 victory.

These two teams fought to a 1-1 tie on Feb. 19 in the first district meeting.

Kylie Williams scored the Lady Rams’ goal on an assist from Molly Clarke.

Today’s girls’ match will also be the final home contests for Lady Rams seniors Clarke, Miriam Garcia, Emily Clingings, Sami Stevens, Jessica Baeza, Bailey Thomas, Flor Turcios, Juana Velasquez and Marlene Betancourt.

The girls’ fourth-place finisher from District 12-4A will play the District 11-4A winner, state-ranked No. 4 Denton Guyer (20-1), in the bi-district playoffs early next week.

The Rams will be looking for a win simply to carry momentum into the Class 4A playoffs.

The Rams defeated Brewer, 2-0, when the two teams met on Feb. 19. Omar Hernandez and Gilbert Castorena had a goal each in the match, with Caleb Bandy earning the shutout in goal.

The match will also be the final home contest for Rams seniors Castorena, Bandy, Serjio Castillo, Bryan Flores, Roy Gomez, Gerardo Moya, Emiliano Silva, Dylan Pruitt, Adan Ortiz, Eric Parker, Juan Munoz and Jose Garcia.

The Rams have qualified for the playoffs for the third year in a row.