The latest inductees to the Mineral Wells High School Athletic Hall of Fame, the 2001 Rams baseball team was honored during a pre-game ceremony at Pratt Field on Saturday, April 14.

Rams baseball 2001 hof induction Weston Radford.jpg

Former Ram baseball player for the 2001 HOF team, Weston Radford.

Ending a 38-year drought, the 2001 Rams went 8-2 in District 5-4A to earn the first district championship for MWHS baseball since 1963. The Rams advanced to the second round of the playoffs that season where they suffered a pair of heartbreaking losses to Burleson.

Among the many accolades the Rams earned for the 2001 season were district Coach of the Year head coach David Crawford and first-team all-district selections catcher Chris Hatley, pitchers Kelsey Cates and Cody Guzman and center fielder Kevin Crump.

The Rams also had a total of four District 5-4A second-team all-district selections in first baseman David Gonzales, second baseman Armondo Benavides, third baseman Rickey Brown and designated hitter Andrew Tam.

Led by head coach David Crawford and assistant coaches Derrick Conley and David Rodriguez, members of the 2001 MWHS Rams baseball team included Kelsey Cates, Kevin Crump, Chris Hatley, David Gonzales, Michael Benavides, Rickey Brown, Cody Guzman, Andrew Tam, AJ Vogl, Weston Radford, Matt McDaniel Armando Benavides, Chris Tam, Ryan Dunn, Monte Fulkerson, Terrill Radford and Tom Johnson.

The athletic director for the 2001 Rams was Sean Harvey, bus driver was Fred White, principal was Ben Setliff and the superintendent Ray Crass.

This Week's Circulars