Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

September 11, 2013

Retired educators give books to encourage county’s young readers

Mineral Wells Index

— Special to the Index

Every year, thanks to the Palo Pinto Retired Teachers and School Employees Association, every first, third, and fifth grader in Palo Pinto County gets a new book of their very own.

The retired teachers meet before distributing the books and sort the books by reading levels appropriate for the specific grade levels. Volunteers then visit the the students in Mineral Wells, Palo Pinto, Graford, Gordon, Strawn and Santo school districts and invite the students in first, third and fifth grades to come and choose the book they would like to own. The retired teachers distribute between 1,100 and 1,200 books each year as part of their effort to encourage reading.

Donations are always welcome and individuals, organizations, school districts and parent-teacher organizations can help with the purchase of these books.

Another project Palo Pinto County Retired Educators undertake each year is providing a scholarship for a high school senior in the county who plans to become a teacher. This money is raised through donations and fundraisers throughout the year. Flor Turcios a 2013 graduate from Mineral Wells High School was this year’s scholarship recipient.

Palo Pinto County Retired Teachers and School Employees is the local unit of Texas Retired Teachers Association. Members are encouraged to be healthy, active, contributing members of their community and state. Our members contribute many volunteers hours to the communities where they live. In addition, TRTA was instrumental in a raise for the teachers and school employees who retired in 2004 or before. Retired educators had not had even a cost of living increase in 12 years.

We invite all former teachers and school employees to come and be a part of this vital group. We meet the third Tuesday of each month from September to May at Holiday Hills Country Club for lunch at 11:30.

Those interested can contact officers Kay Brown, Linda Medlin, Frana Patterson, Benita Smiddy and Susan West for more information.