Mineral Wells Index, Mineral Wells, TX

November 12, 2013

Primary election filing underway for county offices

Mineral Wells Index

— By Libby Cluett

Filing for the March 4th Primary Election started Saturday and the Palo Pinto County Republican Party started with a number of candidates confirming their bids for various county offices.

While some actually filed Saturday, others took their paperwork home and will return it after they get the required number of names on a petition.

The following are the Republican candidates who have filed or verbally committed (an asterisk denotes and incumbent):

29th Judicial District Clerk

• *Janie Glover

• Stacie Frye.

County Clerk

• *Janette Green

• Jessica Wright

• Debbie Murray

Commissioner Precinct 2

• Louis Ragle

Commissioner Precinct 4

• Jeff Fryer

Justice of the Peace Precinct 1

• Todd Baker

Justice of the Peace Precinct 2

Shane Long

Justice of the Peace Precinct 3

Shawn Humphries

Justice of the Peace Precinct 5

Bobby Hart

Constable Precinct 4

• Randy Hunter (filling a vacancy).

In the Palo Pinto County Democratic Party, Theresa Crozier filed to become party chair. Present Chair Ida Nickerson said no other candidates filed as of Monday afternoon. She added that she is undecided about running for party chair again.

Filing with party chairs ends at 6 p.m. on Dec. 9.

To file as a Democrat, contact Nickerson at 940-745-5416.

To file as a Republican, visit the headquarters, 10 a.m.-5 p.m., inside Brazos Mall (near the cinema), or call Barbara Upham at 940-798-2665.