Senior marquee dunker Xavier Harrison is one of seven Graford Jackrabbits honored by coaches as he was named the Overall MVP of District 21-A this week with the release of All-District teams.

With Graford’s extended run into the state Class 1A basketball playoffs, the voting and release of the District 21 All-District were delayed as the 31-7 Jackrabbits were one game away from the state tournament. Some coaches had plans to attend games in Austin, and that held up the honors from being released even longer.

It was no surprise Harrison was named the District Overall MVP after he led Graford to a perfect 10-0 record in league play and dominating league opponents. The Jackrabbits topped 100 points twice in league play and opened the playoffs with a resounding 103-52 win against Avery.

The Jackrabbits went four games deep and into the regional finals before bowing out in a 53-47 loss to Slidell.

Graford has four players earning superlative awards as senior Micah Manley shared the Co-Offensive MVP award with Bryson’s Zander Tinney.  Sophomore Marc Matthews was named a New Comer of the Year, and junior Robert Kincaid is the Sixth Man of the Year.

Senior Tanner Ford and juniors Cody Lemley and Levi Butler were named to the All-District first team.

Perrin’s Pirates also raided the rosters with junior Michael Goodman and sophomore Tyler Welch being named to the All-District first team. Senior Samuel Hernandez and junior Keaton Burke were honored with All-District second-team selections.

Pirate sophomores Landon Draper, Tyce Lambert, and RW Aldridge, were named All-District honorable mention.

The All-District All-Academic team included Graford’s Tanner Ford, Cody Lemley and sophomore Trent Lemley.

District 21 Boys Basketball All-District

Overall MVP- Xavier Harrision, Sr, Graford

Co-Offensive MVP- Zander Tinney, Jr, Bryson; Micah Manley, Sr, Graford

Defensive MVP- Landon Stehpens, Jr, Bryson

Newcomer of the Year- Marc Matthews, Soph, Graford: Josh Woods, Soph, Throckmorton

6th Man of the Year- Robert Kincaid, Jr, Graford

First Team

Lance Brice, Sr, Newcastle

Michael Goodman, Jr, Perrin

Tyler Welch, Soph, Perrin

Tyce Reeves, Jr, Bryson

Tanner Ford, Sr, Graford

Cody Lemley, Jr, Graford

Levi Butler, Jr, Graford

Second Team

Colton Wagley, Sr, Woodson

Raygon Briseno, Jr, Throckmorton

Carson Meyer, Soph, Throckmorton

Cash Strawbridge, Soph, Newcastle

Keaton Burke, Jr, Perrin

Samuel Hernandez, Sr, Perrin

Josh Leatherwood, Sr, Bryson

Ethan Smith, Jr, Bryson

Honorable Mention

Braedon Mendoza, Jr, Woodson

Peyton Nelson, Sr, Woodson

Landon Draper, So, Perrin

Tyce Lambert, So, Perrin

RW Aldridge, Sr, Perrin

Academic All-District

Tanner Ford, Sr, Graford

Cody Lemley, Jr, Graford

Trent Lemley, Soph, Graford

Recommended for you